This is the "Sinclair Library News" page of the "What's New in the Library?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

What's New in the Library?   Tags: library, library news, new, ohiolink, twitter  

Last Updated: May 20, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sinclair.edu/new Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis
Sinclair Library News Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Announcements

Library@Sinclair Community College

Notice: The Library will be closed on the weekends during Summer Semester.

 

Sinclair Library Twitter Feed

Loading Loading...
blank padding
 

OhioLINK Updates

Loading Loading...
blank padding

Featured e-Resource of the Week

Featured e-Resource of the Week for 05/20/13:

  • Nursing Education in Video
    Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers.
 

What's Happening

New Databases in LibSearch & on the A-Z Database List - 4/22/2013
  •  Art & Architecture Complete
  • Associates Programs Source
  • Biological & Agricultural Index Plus (H.W. Wilson)
  • Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  • Caribbean Search
  • Central & Eastern European Academic Source
  • Energy & Power Source
  • Entrepreneurial Studies Source
  • Essay & General Literature Index (H.W. Wilson)
  • Food Science Source
  • Human Resources Abstracts
  • Humanities with Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
  • Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson)
  • International Security & Counter-Terrorism Reference Center
  • Jewish Studies Source
  • Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies
  • National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts
  • Peace Research Abstracts
  • Play Index, (H.W. Wilson)
  • Political Science Complete
  • Public Affairs Index
  • Race Relations Abstracts
  • Risk Management Reference Center
  • Shock & Vibration Digest
  • Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson)
  • Vocational Studies Premier

New LibGuides Published! - 2/15/2013

The library staff have been working to create new Libguides. Some of the latest are: Dayton Ohio History, Nutrition and Food, CHE 1211, and DEV 0032: Foundations of Essay Writing. See them all at - libguides.sinclair.edu/index.php


Discontinued Databases - 2/01/2013

The library is no longered subscribing to the following databases.

  • PAIS International
  • INSPEC
  • Contemporary Womens Issues
  • Business and Industry
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
  • Annual Bibliography of Enlish language and literature

If you have bookmarked these, please note that the links will not longer work properly. If you need help finding an alternative, please ask a librarian.


Spring Semester Sinclair Talks - 01/09/2013

The Spring Semester of Sinclair Talks is about to start. Don't know what they are? The goal of Sinclair Talks is to broaden knowledge and engage students in discussion of various issues on and off campus. These events typically take place in the library Loggia (second floor of the library) near building 5 at 12:00 noon on Wednesdays. Alternate locations are listed in the schedule - http://www.sinclair.edu/student/talks/


LibAnswers - 11/27/2012

We have aquired a product called LibAnswers. It replaces the old email reference service we used to have (although you can still email us). LibAnswers is built on a FAQ and answers database that will hopefully help you answer your questions. Please help us by providing feedback of your experience.


Library makes front page in Clarion! - 09/13/2012

They must have heard about our stairs...

http://www.sinclairclarion.com/home/news/2012/09/13/library-changes-could-save-money-longterm/


Fall Semester Sinclair Talks - 08/30/2012

The Fall Semester of Sinclair Talks is about to start. Don't know what they are? The goal of Sinclair Talks is to broaden knowledge and engage students in discussion of various issues on and off campus. These events typically take place in the library Loggia (second floor of the library) near building 5 at 12:00 noon on Wednesdays. Alternate locations are listed in the schedule.


LIBSEARCH - 08/27/2012

The Discovery Layer is here! It is called LibSearch, and it searches almost every online resource the Sinclair Library has. Try it now! Questions? Take a look at our Libguide, or gives us a call at 937-512-3004.


Discovery is coming! - 7/30/2012

The Sinclair Library will be implementing a "Discovery Layer" as we head into the Fall Semester. What is it? Head on over to our Libguide to find out!


Mobile EBSCO Access - 7/25/2012

Do you have an iPhone, iPad, Android, Blackberry or other mobile device? If you do, you can access the EBSCOhost databases remotely from your device. You can choose to use the mobile browser version, or you can download the iPhone and Android apps. Don't forget that you will need to put in your 9-digit Tartan card number to access these databases. Once in, select the databases you wish to search and start searching!


Glass Stairs Replacement - 7/20/2012

That's right. The four glass stairways into the Library are being replaced. See pictures on Facebook here.


New Online Resource: Credo Reference - 7/02/2012

Credo Reference provides full-text online versions of nearly 1200 published reference works from more than 70 publishers in every major subject, including general and subject dictionaries and encyclopedias


New Online Resource: IPA Source - 6/27/2012

Online since 2003, IPA Source is the web's largest library of International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. Now with over 6066 texts including 1089 aria texts.


New Online Video Resource: Nursing Education in Video - 06/18/2012

Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers. All of the videos in the collection have been created with the guidance of the Medcom-Trainex advisory board, and are regularly reviewed for accuracy, currency, and compliance with US Federal regulations from agencies such as OSHA and CMS.


Library Desk Enhancements - 4/2/2012

Over Spring Break, new vinyl tiles were laid in front of the desk to replace fading carpet. In addition, cool lights at the front of the desk are now lit up! (Facebook fans can see a gallery here)


New Libguides Published - 1/27/2012

The library staff have been working to create new Libguides. Some of the latest are: Exercise, Nutrition and Sport Sciences, Citation Styles, Criminal Justice and Digital Music, Videos, & Images. See them all at - libguides.sinclair.edu/index.php


New Database! - 10/19/2011

Ancestry Library Edition - (On-Campus Access Only) Ancestry LE is part of a one year trial subscription. It provides access to family history via documents that record the lineage of individuals from North America, the U.K., Europe, Australia, and more. Ancestry Library Edition is distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com.For the professional or hobbyist, expert or novice, genealogist, or historian, inside are more than 7,000 databases of family and historical information. For more info, check out this online brochure.

444 West Third Street, Dayton, Ohio 45402 | 1.800.315.3000
Privacy Statement | Security Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
© 2010 Sinclair Community College   All Rights Reserved
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip