This is the "Literary Criticism" page of the "Literary Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Literary Criticism   Tags: english, humanities, literary criticism, literature  

Literary criticism resources for ENG 1201 and all LIT classes.
Last Updated: Apr 16, 2014 URL: http://libguides.sinclair.edu/litcrit Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Literary Criticism Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is literary criticism?

White Rabbit image

Literary criticism is the interpretation or analysis of a literary work. Check out the ipl2's pathfinder for more information.

ipl2 Literary Criticism Pathfinder

Videos & Media

Find Articles

 

Literary Criticism Reference Books

Some of the best literary information is in print. These books in the Dayton campus reference collection are excellent sources for criticism and author biographies. To find the volumes you need, search the Gale Literary Index.

Cover Art
Black Literature Criticism
Call Number: Ref 809.8896 B627d
Excerpts from criticism of the most significant works of Black authors over the past 200 years
3 volumes, 1 supplement in print.
Also available as an ebook.

Cover Art
Black Writers
Call Number: 809.896 B627m
A selection of sketches from Contemporary Authors.

Cover Art
Concise Dictionary of American Literary Biography
Call Number: 810.9 C744
Covers only the American authors most frequently studied in high school and college literature courses.
6 volumes

Cover Art
Contemporary Authors
Call Number: 928 C761
A bio-bibliographical guide to current writers in fiction, general nonfiction, poetry, journalism, drama, motion pictures, television and other fields.
Volumes 1-226

Cover Art
Contemporary Authors New Revision Series
Call Number: 928 C761 NRS
Updated essays on authors featured in Contemporary Authors.
Volumes 1-132

Cover Art
Contemporary Authors Permanent Series
Call Number: 928 C761 PS
Biographical/bibliographical sketches on 3,500 authors who are deceased.
2 volumes

Cover Art
Contemporary Dramatists
Call Number: 822 C761s 1999
Biographies, bibliographies and critical essays on 433 of the most famous living playwrights in the English language.

Cover Art
Contemporary Literary Criticism
Call Number: 809.04 C761
Covers authors who are currently active or who died after December 31, 1959.
Volumes 1-306

Cover Art
Contemporary Novelists
Call Number: 823.03 C767s
Biographical information and critical essays on approximately 650 contemporary writers.

Cover Art
Contemporary Poets
Call Number: 821.914 C761c
Biographical and bibliographical information and critical essays on 787 of the world's most important contemporary English-language poets.

Cover Art
Contemporary Women Poets
Call Number: 811.5409 C761s
Biographies, bibliographies and critical essays on 250 of the most prominent women poets whose works are available in English.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Call Number: 810.9 D554
One of the best sources for biographical information on an author. Profiles include lists of the author's works, plus interviews, portraits and other primary documents. Each volume covers a different genre and era of literature.
Volumes 1-307

Cover Art
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Call Number: 809.04 T971g
Critical commentary on the careers and works of acclaimed poets, novelists, short story writers, dramatists and philosophers who died between 1800 and 1899.
Volumes 1-145

Cover Art
Poetry Criticism
Call Number: 809.1 P74
Each volume provides substantial critical essays and biographical information on four to eight major poets from all eras.
Volumes 1-58

Cover Art
Short Story Criticism
Call Number: 808.3 S559g
Each volume profiles approximately four to eight short story writers by providing full-text or excerpted criticism taken from books, magazines, literary reviews, newspapers and scholarly journals.
Volumes 1-74

Cover Art
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Call Number: 809.04 T971g
Excerpts from criticism of the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, & other creative writers who died between 1900 & 1999.
Volumes 1-154

Librarian

Profile Image
Debra Oswald
Contact Info
937.512.3006
Send Email
 

Research help

Phone: 937-512-3004

Email: ereferen@sinclair.edu

Chat Help: Academic Know it Now

 

How are we doing?

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


444 West Third Street, Dayton, Ohio 45402 | 1.800.315.3000
Privacy Statement | Security Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
© 2013 Sinclair Community College   All Rights Reserved
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip