This is the "Home" page of the "SOC 1145: Cultural Anthropology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

This class guide highlights library and other resources relevant to the SOC 1145 class.
Last Updated: Jun 18, 2013 URL: http://libguides.sinclair.edu/soc1145 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail AlertsShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is 'culture'

culture: When social scientists use the term culture they tend to be talking about a less restrictive concept than that implied in everyday speech. In social science, culture is all that in human society which is socially rather than biologically transmitted, whereas the commonsense usage tends to point only to the arts. Culture is thus a general term for the symbolic and learned aspects of human society, although some animal behaviourists now assert that certain primates have at least the capacity for culture.

There's more. Follow the link:

"culture"  A Dictionary of Sociology. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Sinclair Community College.  23 March 2012  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t88.e484>
 

Poll

What do you have the most trouble with when using Library resources?






 

LibSearch

LibSearch

Find Books, Articles, and Media 

 

The library has an extensive collection of books related to the culture, history and environment of Appalachia.

 

Please let us know

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Vocabulary

Do you need help understand new term? Try these links.

 

Examples of new vocabulary

ritual: Generally, an often-repeated pattern of behaviour which is performed at appropriate times, and which may involve the use of symbolsReligion is one of the main social fields in which rituals operate, but the scope of ritual extends into secular and everyday life as well. For example, the dramaturgical sociology of Erving Goffman makes extensive reference to ‘interactionrituals’, the various ritualized codes of everyday behaviour by which actors co-operate in acknowledging a shared reality and preserve each other's sense of self. Cite as: "ritual"  A Dictionary of Sociology. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Sinclair Community College.  23 March 2012  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t88.e1965>

diffusion (diffusionism)   Diffusion refers to the spread of traits and attributes from one culture to another through contact between different societies. Diffusion theory developed in the 18th and 19th centuries, in opposition to evolutionary theory, both being concerned with the origins of human culture. Cite as: "diffusion"  A Dictionary of Sociology. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Sinclair Community College.  23 March 2012  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t88.e592>

inequality (social inequality)   Unequal rewards or opportunities for different individuals within a group or groups within a society. If equality is judged in terms of legal equality, equality of opportunity, or equality of outcome, then inequality is a constant feature of the human condition. Addressing the question whether it is also a necessary feature of modern societies brings to the fore a number of longstanding debates between liberalsMarxistsfunctionalists, and others. Cite as: "inequality"  A Dictionary of Sociology. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Sinclair Community College.  23 March 2012  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t88.e1106>

ethnicity (ethnic group)   Individuals who consider themselves, or are considered by others, to share common characteristics that differentiate them from the other collectivities in a society, and from which they develop their distinctive cultural behaviour, form an ethnic group. Cite as: "ethnicity"  A Dictionary of Sociology. John Scott and Gordon Marshall. Oxford University Press 2009. Oxford Reference Online. Oxford University Press.  Sinclair Community College.  23 March 2012  <http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/ENTRY.html?subview=Main&entry=t88.e752>

 

Need help finding a topic?

Take a look at Annual Review of Anthropology. An article from the Annual Review of Antropology counts as a scholarly journal article. The library has every year from 1979 to 2001. There are cataloged as books, call number 301 A615a, and located in the Nonfiction collection.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Call Number: Dayton Nonfiction 301 A615a

 

Reference books

Reference books must be used in the library. They can not be checked out. Here are some examples of reference books on culture.


Cover Art
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America - Robert von Dassanowsky
ISBN: 9780787639860
Publication Date: 2000
3 volumes Essays on approximately 150 culture groups of the U.S., from Acadians to Yupiats, covering their history, acculturation and assimilation, family and community dynamics, language and religion.

Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups
Call Number: Dayton Reference 305.8 H339t
ISBN: 0674375122
Publication Date: 1980
Each ethnic group is described in detail. The origins, history and present situation of the familiar as well as the virtually unknown are presented succinctly and objectively. Not only the immigrants and refugees who came voluntarily but also those already in the New World when the first Europeans arrived, those whose ancestors came involuntarily as slaves, and those who became part of the American population as a result of conquest or purchase and subsequent annexation figure in these pages. The English and the Estonians, the Germans and the Gypsies, the Swedes and the Serbs are interestingly juxtaposed. Even entries about relatively well-known groups offer new material and fresh interpretations. The articles on less well-known groups are the product of intensive research in primary sources; many provide the first scholarly discussion to appear in English. One hundred and twenty American and European contributors have been involved in this effort, writing either on individual groups or on broad themes relating to many.

American Immigrant Cultures: Builders of a Nation - David Levinson
ISBN: 9780028972145
Publication Date: 1997
2 volums

Encyclopedia of Cultural Anthropology - David Levinson; Melvin Ember (Editor)
Call Number: R 305.8003 E56L
ISBN: 0805028773
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
Ethnology -- Encyclopedias

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology - Alan Barnard (Editor); Jonathan Spencer (Editor)
Call Number: electronic resource
ISBN: 9781849728003
Publication Date: 2010-10-29

Worldmark encyclopedia of cultures and daily life [electronic resource]
Call Number: Electronic resource
ISBN: 9781414448930
Publication Date: 2009
This is a great place to look up tribes.

Concise dictionary of social and cultural anthropology [electronic resource] - Mike Morris
Call Number: electronic resource
Publication Date: 2012
"The Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology is an accessible, hands-on guide to the hundreds of terms the student of anthropology and the general reader will encounter in dealing with anthropological and ethnographic literature. It includes related terminology from allied fields such as sociology, economics, and geography. The focus is on key concepts in anthropology, with a number of biographies included to identify influential figures who have formulated central theories and conducted the most famous field research within cultures around the world. Extensive bibliographical references provide pointers for further research. Anthropology is a relatively young discipline with a complex history. Anthropological research encompasses hundreds of cultures and provides a valuable perspective on an increasingly globalized world. Written by a researcher and librarian expert in the fields of social and cultural anthropology, this Concise Dictionary offers an invaluable reference to the terminology and accomplishments of this far-reaching and diverse field"--P. [4] of cover

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the World's Minorities - Carl Skutsch (Editor)
Call Number: 305.8003 E564s
ISBN: 157958392X
Publication Date: 2004-11-29

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Marlene Bundy
Contact Info
937-512-3004
Marlene.Bundy@sinclair.edu
Send Email

LibAnswers

Ask Us a Question

Please give an e-mail address so we know where to send your answer. We will not share it.
Fields marked with * are required.
 

Contact Us

If you would like to contact a person directly for research assistance, please contact us at :

Phone - (937) - 512 - 3004

or

Email - ereferen@sinclair.edu 

or

if the library is closed you can use the service below:

 

For questions about book loans, renewing materials, Reserves and overdue fines, call the Library Service Desk:

(937) 512-3007 OR email us at circulation@sinclair.edu


 

 

444 West Third Street, Dayton, Ohio 45402 | 1.800.315.3000
Privacy Statement | Security Policy | Site Map | Contact Us
© 2013 Sinclair Community College   All Rights Reserved
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip